homeartist rosterpress releasesinterview requestlabel info

Press Releases

Red Delivers Fourth Career Project 'Release The Panic' On Feb. 5
Posted November 29, 2012

pdfDownload This Press Release File


Deluxe and Standard Editions Available Feb. 5

(Nashville, Tenn.) November 29, 2012 -- Whatever you thought you knew about Essential Records rock band Red, think again. In fact, thatís exactly what the four-man alternative rock band wants you to do with every track on its fourth project Release The Panic...think again.

Think past your first blush take on Redís lyrical ideas, think beyond the signature aggressive paint-peeling riffs and new-found evocative grooves, and think through the universality of struggle, pain and ultimately hope living in these new songs. Teaming with legendary producer Howard Benson (P.O.D., My Chemical Romance, Daughtry, Skillet and many more) and mixed by both Howard Benson and Mike Plotnikoff, Red has uncovered a potent set of standout songs -- including ěPerfect Life,î ěDie For You,î ěSame Diseaseî and the title track -- sure to get fans talking, rocking and yes, thinking.

The band -- vocalist Michael Barnes, guitarist Anthony Armstrong, bassist Randy Armstrong and drummer Joe Rickard -- took the unusual step (for them, at least) of clearing the calendar and coming off the road in the first quarter of 2012. While previous Red projects had coalesced amidst the bandís hectic touring schedule, for Release The Panic the band decamped to Los Angeles and Bensonís brand-new West Valley Studios. While in L.A., the band lived, breathed, ate, slept and worked, constantly crafting these new tracks, an experience new and invigorating for all members.

ěOne of the things Howard stressed was that if he had heard it before, he didnít want to hear it on this record,î says Rickard, ěso thatís why we were really striving to make this as original as we could.î

At the same time, the band refused to stray away from its pull-no-punches brand of storytelling, with emotive lyrics dealing with mortality, abandonment, paths to redemption and the demands of a pop culture-obsessed society, as found on the initial single, ěPerfect Life.î

ěAs we recorded in Los Angeles, the inspiration for that song was all around us, all the time,î Anthony Armstrong says. ěSo many people have themselves convinced theyíre living the sweet life, the good life, and some have worked really hard to get there, but itís the people who are trying, clawing their way to live this kind of life thatís troubling.î

Still, that quest for sonic originality led to some expansion of what Red has become known for: heavy, dark, driving and expansive, with Barnesí gravelly, guttural, from-a-croon-to-a-scream approach solidifying his stand among rockís top vocalists. Release The Panic keeps all that, but meshes in beats, loops, layered vocals and -- dare we say it? -- pop elements. The result is instantly identifiable as Red, but with a freshness that could help define the state of rock ëní roll today.

ěThe thing I like about this record is that theyíre very forward-thinking songs for a rock band,î Benson says. ěThese guys are sitting on a powder keg, frankly, and I just canít wait for the rest of the world to hear it.î

Fans will get a chance to hear songs from Release The Panic when the band jumps on the Winter Jam tour starting in January, followed by a spring headlining tour and select festival dates to be announced.

Release The Panic will be available in both Deluxe and Standard editions on February 5. The Deluxe edition includes five additional songs; two brand new and three remixes of ěDeath of Me,î ěHymn for the Missingî and ěBreathe Into Me.î Fans will be able to preorder either version through iTunes on December 11.

Shareable links: Album Teaser: & ěRelease The Panicî lyric video:

Release The Panic Track Listing
1. Release The Panic
2. Perfect Life
3. Die For You
4. Damage
5. Same Disease
6. Hold Me Now
7. If We Only
8. So Far Away
9. Glass House
10. The Moment We Come Alive

Release The Panic Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks
11. Love Will Leave A Mark
12. As You Go
13. Hymn For The Missing (Guillotine remix)
14. Death of Me (Guillotine remix)
15. Breathe Into Me (Remix Ac?stica)

About RED:
Nashville-based alternative rock band RED comprises Michael Barnes (vocals), Anthony Armstrong (guitar), Randy Armstrong (bass) and Joe Rickard (drums). Together, its four albumsń End of Silence (2006), Innocence & Instinct (2009), Until We Have Faces (2011) and Release The Panic (2013)ńhave sold more than 1 million units, garnered two GRAMMY nominations, five GMA Dove Awards, two Top 10 Active Rock singles, three Top 10 Mainstream Rock singles and 15 No. 1 hits at Christian radio.

REDís latest two albums both debuted within the top slots of the coveted Billboard Top 200 albums chart, with Until We Have Faces (Feb. 1, 2011) reaching No. 2 in the nation, and the most recent project Release The Panic (Feb. 5, 2013) peaking at No. 7. Additionally, both projects topped the following Nielsen SoundScan charts: Current Rock Music, Current Alternative, Christian Rock, Current Contemporary Christian Overall and Record Label Independent charts.

Notable media coverage includes national TV, with TBSí ěConanî featuring ěFacelessî and NBCís ěTonight Show with Jay Lenoî highlighting ěNot Alone.î Other rave reviews for the band have been highlighted in top media outlets such as USA Today, Billboard, Rolling Stone, Modern Drummer, Guitar World and more.

In addition, RED is known for its relentless touring, performing alongside notable rock names such as Hinder, 3 Doors Down, Creed, Breaking Benjamin, Three Days Grace, Godsmack, Sevendust, Drowning Pool, Flyleaf, Seether, Saving Abel, Staind, Third Day, Switchfoot, Skillet, Papa Roach, Buckcherry, Brian ě Headî Welch and others. In its career, RED has performed to more than 3 million fans to date.

For more information on RED or Release The Panic, visit:, or

# # #

« Back To Press Releases


Audio Player Twitter